Kids’ music that will not make you want to pull your own ears off

How’s that for a promise?

Remember before you had kids, when you swore a few things would never ever happen?  Things that were just too tacky, too annoying, too lowbrow to consider?

Come on, we all had a list.  Let me name a few, to jog your memory.  Never shall I ever…

Why the faux-wood paneling? Who did they think they were kidding?

  1. Drive a minivan.
  2. Wear mom jeans.
  3. Have plastic toys all over my living room.
  4. Let my kid act like a brat in a grocery store.
  5. Bribe that kid in the grocery store to just get it to shut up and quit embarrassing me.
  6. Say “shut up” in front of or to my kid.  Or in reference to my kid.
  7. Play annoying kid music that makes me want to pull my own ears off.

And then…you have a kid.  And some of these things might fly out the window.  Maybe you hold strong to some of those things (good for you!) but maybe, one by one, they become less important than they once were.  (Ahem, drivingaminivan.  Many a woman has sworn against it…).

Kids’ music did not really enter our home until Chicken Little was almost two years old.  Up until then we just listened to what we wanted to listen to and got really excited when she would clap along to, say, Paul Simon or Sara Bareilles.  One of the first songs she really knew was “ABC 123″ which she requested as “Shake it, baby”.  I secretly gave myself cool points for having a child who listened to the Jackson 5, and not something by Barney and Friends.

And then Chicken received a cd for Christmas of- you got it- kids’ music.  The annoying kind.  We didn’t open it for a few months.  I think we all forgot about it and I assumed I had Goodwill’d it.  I have been known to do that from time to time.  One night she found it and requested to hear it during bathtime.  Innocently, I played the cd.  And the gateway drug entered the premises.  A whole world she had previously known nothing about was opened to her.

She was immediately smitten by it.  Wanted to hear it over and over during bathtime every night.  For hours afterward I would be humming terrible songs about teddy bears and cartwheels.

I liken it to a gateway drug in that it is hard to quit cold turkey and just go back to contentment with that geezer Paul Simon.  Once “Teddy Bear Teddy Bear” gets in your system it is hard to get it out.

So- if you find that you have crossed over into kid music land and can’t seem to get out, let me recommend a musician to you.  Elizabeth Mitchell.  Not this one:

Lost! How I miss you...

But this one:

Seems more appropriate than the gun-slinger, right?

I first heard her music when I checked out a few cds from the library for a road trip last fall.  I got “You Are My Flower” and enjoyed it a lot.  As did Chicken.  I didn’t mind if the songs got stuck in my head- that’s something, right?

Apparently “You Are My Flower” was recorded in one afternoon at their home in Woodstock.  It is mellow and hippy-ish and you sort of picture Elizabeth plucking along on her guitar while friends come and go, nursing their five year old children and drinking beer out of mason jars.  If you’re into that sort of music this cd is for you.  I also just checked out “You Are My Little Bird” and might enjoy that one even more than “Flower”.

So there you have it.  Kid music that you might actually enjoy, along with your child.

I leave you with this:

"'I'm not a woman anymore- I'm a Mom!"

 

6 thoughts on “Kids’ music that will not make you want to pull your own ears off

  1. We’ve enjoyed Dan Zanes’ music too. If one wants Christian music we’ve also enjoyed the Seeds Family Worship series. All are available through iTunes or Amazon for sample and purchase.

  2. From your list, number 3 scares me the most. I’ve resigned myself to the rest. Especially when the husband has wanted a minivan his entire adult life. Seriously, how do you fend off the primary colored plastic?!
    Oh, and good news. Mom jeans are making a come back in the fashion world. Here’s to a cyclic fashion industry!

  3. “It is mellow and hippy-ish and you sort of picture Elizabeth plucking along on her guitar while friends come and go, nursing their five year old children and drinking beer out of mason jars.”

    that description alone is enough to get to me to check out this music. i may have LOL’d quite a bit.

  4. keely quoted the very sentence that made me wish i were drinking a beer out of a mason jar so i could spit it out of my mouth mid-swig. LOL mary katherine!

Leave a Reply

