August goal?

Well, I didn’t really set an August goal.  Per se.  Except to try to move without getting too stressed out.  So far, so good.  Sure, I’ve had my moments (like when the whole house-buying process fell through and we had to try to figure out a plan b.  Plan b=renting the house instead of buying it) but overall this move has gone really really well.

Here’s a few reasons why:

1.  I wasn’t there for it.

Oh wait.  That’s it.  The only reason worth mentioning as to why this move has gone well.

I had the kids with me up in ye old homeland of Lincoln, VA (you’ve heard of it, right?  huuuuuge city outside of the D.C. area) while the hubs did all of the moving himself.  He recruited friends, he did the last few days’ of packing, he saw that everything got from one side of the street to the other safely.  And I got to just show up (sans kids) the next day and start unpacking.

That is the best way to move, in my opinion.

I hit the unpacking thing hard for two days.  It was a frenzy of emptying boxes and moving furniture around.  Then I went back up to the homeland to get the kids and haven’t done a lick of unpacking since.  Man, I hit that wall early.  And- no- we’re not even done.  So I came up with a plan of attack: do one thing a day.

This idea originated back when I was a brand new mom with a little newborn in my arms.  [Have I written about this before?  I feel like I have…]  After the first little stretch of time of just holding the baby, trying to figure out nursing, and sleeping when I could, I knew I was ready for more.  I wanted to start moving into actually keeping the home a little bit.  You know, cook a meal here and there.  Toss some laundry in every few days.  Of course, never having been at home full time or- oh yeah- a mom, I didn’t know how to approach it.  How do I actually do anything?  What if the baby wakes up and I can’t finish the task?  What about the days when I am overwhelmed and the house is filthy but I don’t know where to start?  The hubs suggested that I just do one thing a day.  Take out the trash, do some dishes, make a meal.  Whatever.  Just one thing and call it a successful day.  Oh and keep the baby alive.

So I think I’m back at that point.  Overwhelmed.  Don’t have much energy to keep tackling entire rooms of stuff.  (Today I shall unpack and organize the entire guest room, including putting sorted and labeled items in the attic and hanging curtain rods!)  I think the remainder of the month, the goal is to do one thing a day.  One box.  One little area.  Move one piece of furniture.  And call it a successful day.  Oh, and keep the kids alive.  Of course.

One thought on “August goal?

Leave a Reply

