Halfway through- the update

Day 11 or so of the 21-Day Challenge.  So far, so good.  I haven’t fulfilled every single criteria to the nth degree but I’m not too worried about that.  Jillian and I have been kicking it during the early morning hours, before the kids get up.  With the hubs leaving for work around 5:30/6:00, there’s no chance for that early-morning jog to get my 20 minutes of cardio in.  I mean- 5:00 am jog?  No thanks.  I’ve done a few walks with the kids in the double stroller and even jogged with them the other day for about 3 minutes.  With the hills that we have in Charlottesville, pushing that stroller can really get my heart rate up.

I exchanged an email with Rob, the one who created and kicked off this whole idea, and we both agreed that we’re more tired than we thought we would be at this point.  I guess I thought that my body would have responded to the exercise in an energetic way by now, and I’d have a little more pep in my step.  Instead, I took a pregnancy test the other day to see if I was knocked up.  That’s how fatigued I have been.

Nope- not pregnant.  Just so that’s out there and clear.

Week one I fulfilled all of the cardio “requirements”- five 20-minute workouts, three strength-training sessions, and one 45-minute cardio workout.  I did not, however, fulfill the meditation/prayer requirements.  Just did 2 out of the 3 that were asked.  That’s odd, isn’t it?  I’ll get my tail out of bed to jump around like an idiot in front of my laptop to get my heart rate up, but won’t take and extra 10 minutes to pray or meditate.  Laaaaame.  In reflecting on this, I think I like that cardio work means results, whereas prayer…  well, prayer is just not a results-oriented exercise.  I don’t pray and expect things to immediately turn around in the way I want them to.  There’s no guarantee that what I pray or meditate on will happen as I want it to.  So it is easier to put my time and energy into something that will show results.

I mean, I guess that’s part of what is happening.  Probably lots of other things in that mix as well.

I don’t know how to neatly finish up this post.  So- here ends the update.

Oh and this was on the back of a childrens’ book that my kids recently received as a gift.  It was the parting message to my children after reading the book, and my parting message to you:

i mean... what?

Leave a Reply

