I Know Now What I Didn’t Know Then

Last Wednesday at 8:00 PM, we opened an envelope to find out that baby numero tres is a boy.  In case there was any doubt, the ultrasound tech wrote “100% boy” on a picture of the little guy’s ding dong.  Not much else in the picture.  Just his bidness.  So yeah- no questions here.

who wouldn’t want another one of these around?

We had friends over for the occasion, dressed in either pink or blue to guess at what we were having.  For the third time, I guessed wrong.  I wore pink.  Mother’s intuition- what a crock.

We call it a sex party, and it is a fun way to find out what you’re having.  This time we also had friends suggest baby names for us.  So now we’ve got options in that department too.

One day I’ll write about sex party number two and what it was like to feel extreme disappointment at what we were having, with lots of friends present.  (I’d still do it again, but notgonnalie that was a rough patch for me.)

A boy!

Tonight at dinner we were talking about having another brother in the family and Chicken said “I don’t want another brother.  That’s too many boys in this house!”.  She had really been campaigning for a sister (older, preferably, which would be tricky) and wanted to name her “Rainbow”.

Other things that may not be quite as exciting, but have transpired nonetheless:

  • I’m done watching Glee.  I liked season one but haven’t enjoyed it much since then.  Finally decided to quit watching a show I don’t enjoy.  Novel idea.
  • I have sold a rug, an easel, and a tablecloth with matching napkins on Craigslist this past week.  I love getting rid of things I’m not using.
  • I made beeswax lotion today.  I get annoying dry skin in the winter and pregnancy seems to make it worse, so it was time to take moisturizing to a new level.  Cue the beeswax.  Hoping it provides the fix I’ve been looking for.

11 thoughts on “I Know Now What I Didn’t Know Then

  1. Glee annoys me so much and I loved season one…I stopped too. You would love New Girl. I love it! So excited about your baby boy!

  2. Yay for little boys, not that I know what it’s like to have a girl…agreed about Glee. Boo.

  3. I agree with Glee, as well. Just like getting rid of stuff in your house (donating, sure, but making money on it? i’m becoming hooked- doing that JBF thing i mentioned and sold some stuff on ebay this week!!), it’s just as refreshing when you clear your DVR, your Netflix, your schedule, whatever- of shows that you don’t love. Seriously. It’s ridiculous how cluttered my DVR can become and how great I feel when I bite the bullet and “unsubscribe”, if you will.
    Also- I love that Chicken wants an older sister. Good luck with that one.

  4. just so you know…it’s been a little too long without some of your blog…I am in need of a good read. just sayin’

Leave a Reply

