The Wait is Over

Here are a few things that have transpired since my last post:

We had our baby.  He’s a little dreamboat.  Requires more holding/carrying/wearing than my previous offspring, but I’m okay with that.  For now, anyway.  I ignore him in spurts, but he lets me know he is not really into that whole thing.

I made it to the hospital in time.  Not just in time to avoid having my baby in the car (a fear of mine), but also in time for some glorious medication.  It was all I could have hoped for.

He was unnamed for the first 6 days of his life.  Analysis paralysis set in big time (I mean, it is a NAME.  That he’ll have the rest of his LIFE).  On day four I told my husband I couldn’t think about it anymore- I was in a pros/cons gridlock.  So he picked the final winner.  Whew.

I saw the bottom of my belly for the first time in…geez…weeks.  I had no idea the stretch marks that were organizing their ranks there.  I innocently stepped out of the shower and DEARGODWHATHAPPENEDTOME???  I already had a couple from the little Monkey.  This kid- I mean, I can’t even count them.  Seeing what has been lurking just under your belly button + postpartum hormones + nursing pains…  Well, tears were shed.  So much for that string bikini I was gunning for.

We have been overwhelmed by our friends.  In a good way.  I’ve come home to flowers on my porch, meals at my door, offers to watch my kids, hold my baby- you name it.  I’ve taken many people up on these offers.  It has made the transition about as smooth as it could be.  I’m so thankful.  We have such great friends.

Chicken looooooves her baby brother.  Wants to smooch the heck out of him all the time.  Conversely, Monkey wants to drive Matchbox cars on his face, tweak his nose, and poke at his eyes.  Seems to be mostly out of curiosity, more than anything.  But seriously- what gives?  How doe babies even survive their siblings?

Been a busy few weeks.

 

5 thoughts on “The Wait is Over

  1. Oh my goodness – I can’t even handle how adorable he is. And the picture of all of their feet. Stop with the cuteness already!!! Save some for the rest of us! ;)

  2. Pingback: Advice to a New Mom | Ye Old College Try

Leave a Reply

