A Few Things, One Being a Granola Recipe

I was recently called out on facebook for not posting recently.  Well excuuuuse me, Keely, for having a baby and needing to, like, survive and stuff.

Humph.

Here’s how well I’m doing as a mom lately:  We had the latest edition (addition?  could be either, right?) baptized last Sunday and when we were in the parking lot Chicken informed me that she didn’t have any unders on.

Commando in church.  Nice.  As we stood in front of the whole congregation, I just hoped she didn’t get the urge to dance around in the Spirit or something, dress a-twirling.

She didn’t.  The latest one got sprinkled and all was well.

In other news, (news in which everyone has their underwear on), my sister and I are sugar-free until our family vacation in August.  She is going hard-core; I am having one dessert a week.

I’m always curious when someone tells me they’re going gluten-free or sugar-free.  Or all raw foods.  Or vegan.  Or any other diet change.  I want to know how it feels, how their body has responded, how their moods have changed, and so on.  So when my sister was up for the baptism she asked if I wanted to try it for a few weeks and I said why the heck not.  I’m not avoiding all forms of sugar or sweets- I eat fruit and had honey on my bread yesterday.  I’m just avoiding the really obvious ones, like dumping spoonfuls in my coffee or snacking on brownies.  I’m also avoiding artificial sweeteners.  No Coke for me.

It has not even been a week yet, so I can’t make any grand proclamations about stabilized energy levels or anything.  And waking up with a baby for weeks on end will sort of shoot any baseline of energy to hell anyway.  BUT, that being said, I like that I am not automatically turning to desserty snacks at 1:30 to pep myself up for the afternoon shift of parenting.  With that off the table, I am doing things like lying down and resting instead.  Wonder of wonders, that actually works better than finishing all those cookies.

Speaking of sugar, (segue) here is my favorite granola recipe of all times.  My neighbor likened it to an oatmeal raisin cookie, “except morally upstanding”.  It’s a fitting description.

From this site.  I always double or triple the recipe, then freeze the extra for all of two days- at which point I’ve usually eaten the first batch.

Granola that will knock your socks off:

2 cups old fashioned oatmeal

1 tsp cinnamon

pinch of nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt (I use kosher or sea salt- it makes for a nice contrast to all of the sweetness)

3 tb plus 1 tsp canola oil  (I have used coconut oil as well)

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

2/3 cup whole almonds

2/3 cup raisins

1.  Preheat to 325.

2.  Combine first 4 ingredients in a large bowl.

3.  In a separate bowl, whisk together next 4 ingredients.

4.  Combine two bowls, reserving almonds and raisins separately.

5.  Spread mixture on greased baking sheet.  Bake for 10 minutes, then flip granola with a spatula.  Add almonds and bake for another 10 minutes.  Add raisins, then pop it back in for the final 5 minutes.  Let it cool completely on the pan.

So good.  Really.  So so good.

Why am I still awake?  Keely, I blame you.

10 thoughts on “A Few Things, One Being a Granola Recipe

  1. Instead of “blaming” me, shouldn’t you be thanking me for motivating you?
    Your readers surely will.

    I was baptized when I was 10, full immersion, mind you, and forgot to bring a change of underwear. My mom made the executive decision for me to go without them for the dunking so I would have them for the rest of church.

    • Going without underwear at age 10 seems infinitely more risky than at 4. That’s a hard call for a mom to make- to say go without for the immersion. Wow. She was gutsy.

  2. I’m always looking for a good granola recipe and will have to try this out! I made a batch in the slow cooker the other day–it was pretty good.

    Maybe I should test your granola out over a coffee date soon?

  3. I totally hear you on the no sugar thing. I started it when Hayden was about 4 weeks old because I found that I was overly tired and gorging on sugar to try to make it better. Which of course made it worse. After the first 3 days, I felt like a million bucks and didn’t miss it one bit. In fact, I was completely off sugar for at least 6 months or so (the fact that I don’t even know how long should be a sign that it was legit.) That segued into the Daniel Fast (think whole grains, fruits, and veggies and pretty much nothing else) at the beginning of the year and felt so good that the 21-day fast because a 60-day fast. So, I feel you. Anyway – I have a KILLER sugar-free granola recipe that uses dates as sweetener. Yes, I’m serious. And yes, it’s freaking delicious. Click here STAT: http://www.ultimatedanielfast.com/2009/09/just-warning-this-recipe-is-dangerously.html

    • wow! props to you ellen! that is impressive. and 60 days of whole grains, fruits and veggies? i bet you felt awesome. these are the kind of diet changes that i get so curious about.

      i was just about to do my relay foods shopping list and dates are on there (from the cheese shop). i’ll add a few more bags to my order and try this granola!

  4. Pingback: All New Things | Ye Old College Try

  5. Pingback: Game On! | Ye Old College Try

Leave a Reply

