Don’t Make Big Decisions When…

titled "You stand there and tell me when Mommy's coming!".  I just found about 100 of these on my ipad.

titled “You stand there and tell me when Mommy’s coming!”. I just found about 100 of these on my ipad.

My goal for August: to post something to this blog, three times a week. That’s why you’re seeing a lot more posts from me.
…………………………………

On Friday I finished another 5 mile run. This time I ran outside, in the morning before anyone was awake at my house.

The first thing I noticed when I stepped outside was- dear Lord- the humidity. The air felt thick and gross. That did not inspire me in the least, but I was already dressed and out the door (the hardest part, right? NOT THIS TIME) so I started off.

I followed a route my husband told me was “about 5 miles”. Here is where 5 miles outside is different from the treadmill:

treadmill:
does some of the work for you
you control the hills
bathrooms are available anytime
temperature and humidity are controlled

outside:
the opposite of all of that

About 30 minutes in, I was at the furthest point away from my house. I was tired and thirsty and knew that some of the worst hills on my run were yet to come. (Park Street- why are you so flat and lovely on one side of the bypass, yet so heinous and steep before that? Why??). My left knee hurt and it all just sort of made me want to 1) cry and 2) hitchhike home.

And this is the part of the blog post where I say that things really picked up from there! I got a second wind and killed those hills, finishing strong in about an hour!

NO.

The last half of the run completely sucked, and I gutted it out with breaks to walk here and there.

Several times during the run, particularly during the hills, I thought things like:
“I can’t do this run.”
“I can’t do this run, and then add on another mile at the end.”
“I can’t do this run, plus another mile, after swimming and biking.”
and finally:
“I should bail on the Olympic distance and do the Sprint instead. This is just too much.”

But the bottom line is that I’m not going to bail on it. If I have to walk- I don’t care! And I know that, but sort of forgot that perspective in the middle of this terrible run with terrible hills.

Here is a takeaway nugget of wisdom, from me to you. Do not decide whether or not to participate in a race while in the middle of a heinous run. If so, the answer will most certainly be “no”.

In the same vein:
Do not decide if you want to have another baby while you are sleep training a child. Or when your child is in a terrible stage of development and making you want to tear your hair out. If so, the answer will most certainly be “no”.

Do not decide whether or not you are going to use corporal punishment in your parenting when your child is in the middle of a terrible tantrum. If so, the answer will most certainly be “yes”.

Impulsivity works for me in the areas of rearranging furniture, writing thank-you notes, and buying fresh flowers at the grocery store. In other big decisions, it usually makes more sense for me to sit on it for a while. Otherwise I can forget the bigger picture- like, for example, the fact that I am totally fine walking during this race.

2 thoughts on “Don’t Make Big Decisions When…

Leave a Reply

