It’s Friday

Let’s all pause to remember this song:

How about a recap of my week?
On Monday and Tuesday we had my nieces here. Chicken just cried and cried when they left. They have great friends here that they see all of the time, but there is something special about their time with their cousins. I loved time with my cousins growing up and I’m glad they have that bond, too.

This is when I told them to look like they were having a miserable time, so I could send that picture to my brother and sister-in-law. (My six year old niece couldn’t quite hold on to the “miserable” look):

image

Wednesday was behavior boot camp day, which happens after every visit with family. When they are with their grandparents, they are spoiled rotten (as it should be) and therefore need a strong dose of reality when they get back home with me. No, we are not watching a show at 8:00 a.m. (and again at 10:00, and noon, and so on) and we are not getting Sweet Frogs after every meal, either.

When they are with their cousins I pretty much don’t interact with them at all, because they hide out in the bedroom and play ponies/dragons/tigers for hours on end. And whenever there is a sleepover with any family, no one sleeps as much as normal and everyone is strung out the next day. Everyone gets a little snippier with each other and I let things slide because it’s only a couple of days. Hence, behavior boot camp on Wednesday, and getting everyone back on track. It must have really worn the Monkey out, because this is where I found him napping:

image

I was alarmed. But, at the same time, the other day he took his nap in a big cardboard box our neighbors gave us after they got a new toilet. And a few months ago he napped like this (except with the lid on):

image

Yesterday was my work day, so the kids were with their favorite sitter of all times (when they weren’t in preschool or homeschool co-op). She came back yesterday evening to give me and my dreamboat husband a night out. It was great.

Today the sun is shining and I spent some time with my youngest, walking to the library to check out some books just for me.

Do you think the librarians judge me for checking out People magazines? Because I do that. And a book about the Duggar family.  What can I say, I am full of surprises and contradictions. But who isn’t curious about how a family of 20 does…anything?

Now I’m off to pack up my summer clothes and purge a bunch of stuff that doesn’t fit or looks like crap on me.  Woohoo!

Anyone else have a good week like I did? Happy weekending, everyone.

10 thoughts on “It’s Friday

  1. At which playground are the girls being miserable? I don’t recognize it.

    And can I borrow the Duggar book when you are done with it? :)

    • you’re kidding about your former workplace playground, right?? just checking.

      you can only borrow the Duggar book if you borrow the “current events” periodicals as well. it is a twofer.

  2. Chicken’s got a pretty authentic miserable face…like you were going all Mrs. Hannigan on her again… :) (Also – I have read and not commented on your last blogs – and I totally get the “has to be perfect” notebook thing – and LOVE that you’ve been debating a $10 item in your Amazon shopping cart for a year. And also – the “I’m sorry you feel that way.” is TOTALLY not a real apology. At all. Definitive.) And I don’t remember the last time I went to the library for myself. That sounds like a great idea! :)

  3. So so grateful to you and your crew for taking care of our little cherubs.  You ROCK!  So glad to hear that you had a peaceful end to your week.  Starting to think that perhaps Bowen has a career in being an extortionist?!?!? Is that the word I’m looking for?  You know, those pliable, malleable, gumby like people who can fit into all sorts of weird, small spaces.  Pretty sure that’s not the correct word.  What is it? It’s late and my brain is working exceptionally well… at least that’s the excuse I’m going with, for now.

  4. Just found it… it’s CONTORTIONIST!  Whoops… he’s certainly not an extortionist… at least not yet. :)

    • i just don’t know how a person wouldn’t be fascinated by them. seriously. and i comfort myself often with the fact that mom duggar said her hardest years as a parent were the early ones- the 1-4 kids stage.

Leave a Reply

