How to Eat Vegetables

First of all, let’s notice that I am now on WordPress and no longer on Blogger.  Blogger was giving me a hard time and my facebook friends were telling me they couldn’t comment on Blogger.  So- adios Blogger, hello WordPress.  I like comments and so it seemed like a good idea to make the switch.  I still have some kinks to work out- not all of my fabulous pictures and links transferred- but I think I’m going to like it here.

On to eating your vegetables.  This month is vegetarian month and- holy smokes- I am halfway through the month.  I slipped up once, forgetting momentarily my goal for the month, and ate a half of a fish stick.  I mean…really?  Mess up the goal for a stinkin’ fishstick?  Not worth it.  But I really just forgot until about an hour later, when my sister-in-law asked me what my goal was for the month.  Oops.

Kellie (aforementioned sister-in-law) and I were talking about what kind of meals we eat during this month of vegetables, and I thought I’d share a few recipes that have been good.  She and I also talked about how the old hubs is feeling about chewing on celery sticks every day and forgoing the t-bone that he knows and loves.  Well, the answer is that he likes it.  He likes eating healthy.  He is currently training for the Tough Mudder [warning: there is audio that greets you on this site, so don’t go opening it in your office] so he is particularly open to eating healthy options.  I mean, you can stuff your face with salad and feel nice and full, but not have that eww-bloated feeling.  So I think he and I are both into that.  His general perspective is that as long as he has some protein in his meal then he is fine.  It doesn’t matter to him that much if that comes in the form of chicken or black beans.

That being said, I’m sure he’ll enjoy some meat here and there when he is not eating here with me at home.  I know that is the case for a certain friend of mine- his wife is a vegetarian and he is not.  So they eat vegetarian at home and he enjoys that slab of meat when he is out.  Cinchy, right?

Here are a few recipes that were recommended to me, that I will now pass on to you.  Enjoy!

Zucchini Enchiladas, to help us use up a small fraction of the zucchini in our garden.  I added some yellow squash, since we also have that coming out of our ears.  And one can of black beans- protein!

Squash Patties.  Again- we have more squash than we can handle.  Little Monkey loved this, Chicken did not.  You win some, you lose some.  They were not as flavorful and I would have liked, but the hubs thought it was nice to just taste the squash and onion and enjoy those flavors on their own.

image from real beauty

We have had Broccoli and Cabbage Salad a few times too.  Once I break out that food processor and get shredding, I can’t stop!  Here is that recipe:

1 cup walnuts or toasted slivered almonds

1 pkg uncooked Ramen, broken

2 tb butter

1 bunch chopped broccoli florets

1 head chopped Romaine or cabbage [we used cabbage- a CSA harvest that we have a ton of!]

4 chopped green onions

1 cup sweet and sour dressing

Brown the walnuts and Ramen in butter; cool on paper towel.  Combine with broccoli, cabbage, and onion.  Pour on dressing and toss.  [We don’t combine everything all at once because I find that we eat this over the course of a couple or few days.  So keep the parts separate so they don’t get all soggy and gross.  Unless you’re going to eat the whole batch on night one.  In that case- combine away!]

Dressing:

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup wine vinegar

salt and pepper

1 1/2 tsp soy sauce

flavor packet from Ramen noodles

Enjoy those veggies!

6 thoughts on “How to Eat Vegetables

  1. Love this! We mostly eat vegetarian. A new favorite for us that we created are veggie quesadillas. We use black beans, cheese, whole wheat tortillas, green onions, and other fresh veggies. We made them last week and added summer squash, carrots, and swiss chard. Season with pepper, cumin, and a little salt. Cilantro and avocado on top is yummy too! I’m going to try your recipes!

  2. HI Katherine! I’m commenting! I love your blog. Don’t be weirded out that I’m reading it and checking in every morning and waiting for new posts. Just let it inspire. : ) Ok, I’m determined to keep my newbie blog going too. Right now no one reads it so I feel safe to be an idiot but I might leave the address right here for you to check out. . .ahhh, nervous!

    Ok, seriously, I’m loving reading Ye Olde and like I said, the name is near and dear to my heart thinking back to our old AP study group. love it. love you.

    Steph

    http://www.songswriteme.blogspot.com

    (warning, I have no idea what I’m doing).

    P.S. Where do you grow ye vegetables?

    • Just checked out your blog, Step-On-Me Squash-Her and it is truly a delight. Forge ahead with confidence!
      Might I suggest Google Reader, so as to avoid the checking and re-checking every day of your favorite blogs? It groups them all together for you in one handy listing!
      Thanks for the comment! I love comments!

  3. Katherine I can finally comment and I have really enjoyed eating a lot of veggies as well this summeer. We eat a lot of rice with veggies asian style and these veggie egg rolls from wally world. Keep the recipes coming. Love, heather

Leave a Reply

