Just a Quick Post

Because I really enjoyed this post on the blog The Happiest Mom.

In short, she writes about a neighbor coming by with his two boys at Halloween and criticizing her for handing out candy that has high fructose corn syrup.  This leads into some thoughts about “diet dogma” and the tendency toward black and white thinking: this food is good, that is bad.  Always and forever.  For example:  white bread- bad.  Organic whole grain bread- good.  Without exception.

I like to support change with how I spend my money.  I don’t like funneling all of my money to big food corporations that mistreat their land and animals to crank out as much food as possible in as short a time as possible.  And it is weird to me that so many of our foods contain high fructose corn syrup.  So, sometimes that involves buying organic and local.  But sometimes it doesn’t.  Sometimes our budget doesn’t allow it.  Sometimes the local produce is overripe and will go bad in our house.  Sometimes I just can’t be bothered to care and to read all the labels on that particular day.  I have other things that are at the top of the list.

Here’s a part I particularly liked:

Feeding ourselves and our kids pure, whole diets – and eschewing everything that’s not pure and whole, all the time – has become another way to reassure ourselves that we’re doing this motherhood thing right, another way to try to guarantee a good outcome (something I’ve definitely fallen prey to myself.) But if we put all the focus on ingredients and nutrients, do we miss teaching our kids that food is also about love, pleasure, family, fun? If we openly criticize the food choices (and non-choices) of people around us, have we missed an opportunity to teach our kids about compassion and appreciation for differences?

Good thoughts.  Good thoughts.

Leave a Reply

