And here it is, November already.

I thought it might be time to write about my goal for this month.  Seeing as how it is the middle of the month already.

I hemmed and hawed over what to do this month.  My friend Carolyn suggested a a focus on diaphragmatic breathing for the month.  I read a bit about that and love it, but maybe for another month.

The past few weeks I have been feeling blah and tired.  My house reflects that.  There is stuff piled up on most surfaces and our downstairs closets are all a mess.  In our old apartment, this would not have worked.  We didn’t have room for much clutter or sustained mess.  In this sprawling home that we now occupy, I can ignore piles of papers and junk for weeks at a time.

photo from lisaclarke.net

So, with the holidays coming, my goal for this month is to clear the clutter and get things in order around here.  It feels like exam time in college, when suddenly I needed to clean my room before I could actually study.  I can’t go into Christmas with this much crap sitting around our house, weighing me down.  I am starting to crave order again.  After not caring for the past few weeks, this shift feels nice.

Some of this will be reminiscent of the 5-things challenge of January, where I got rid of 5 things a day for the whole month.  This includes library books that need to be returned (note to self: do not check out 15 childrens’ books at a time.  Bad idea.  Where are those other 6 books?), sheets and pillows that I borrowed from a friend a few weeks ago, and returns to various stores around C’ville.  And then lots of paper piles and general crap that needs to be sorted and tossed.

For some people this probably sounds like torture.  For me, it feels like a relief.  I feel weighed down and more stressed when I have too much stuff sitting around that should be taken care of.

For a little inspiration, I enjoyed reading Pancakes and French Fries during the month of October.  She applied William Morris’ quote to her home for all 31 days of the month, and blogged as she went.  Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.

While I probably will not do anything as thorough as she did, I do like the little kick in the pants that the month of October provided for some of those projects that might have lingered and lingered otherwise.  November is my kick in the pants.
5 thoughts on “And here it is, November already.

  1. I’m motivated, too. I’m hosting Thanksgiving next week (as well has having my in-laws watch the kids here on Saturday, and my MIL can be a bit snoopy…) and our house is a pit. I’ve created places to put most paper so it doesn’t just pile up on our kitchen counter but it always seems like too much effort to actually walk over to the designated place. What to do? What to do?
    I say I’m motivated. What I’m motivated for is for you to come clean my house.

    • cleaning someone else’s house sounds a lot more fun than cleaning my own. pay my airfare and i’m there.

      props to you for hosting t’giving. i don’t feel grown-up enough to do that yet. i think the cooking experience and know-how that you have goes a long way for that sort of experience.

      what do you think about planting some weirdo things in your medicine cabinet, or wherever you think your mil snoops? give her something to freak out about, while also worrying about how to bring it up when she knows this would give away her snooping. just a thought about how to spice that relationship up a bit.

      • that would be awesome. more than anything, we’re pretty sure she considers any piece of paper that’s sitting out fair-game. so bills, pay check stubs, all those steamy love letters we’re always writing to one another, that sort of thing.

  2. nice work, i just realized that our blogs are very similar in nature. mine might be a little better… but that’s just my opinion. 🙂 i am going to steal some of your ideas here. keep it up MK

Leave a Reply

