More About Beans!

Remember a few weeks ago when I burned all of those beans?  And the house smelled foul for a long time?  My thoughtful neighbor Caroline came to my rescue (maybe she could smell it too?) and brought over a recipe for slow-cooker black beans.  She also brought me a sample so I would know what I was cooking.

I don’t know if I will ever go back to regular cans of beans again.  Not only are dry beans cheaper to buy, but these taste really really good.

Prior to making these, I thought black beans are black beans.  Good addition to a fajita or whatever.  But pretty bland overall.  Never again!  My husband loves them, I love them, and miracle of miracles the little Chicken loves them.  This makes enough to freeze several little tupperwares for a while, to really stretch out the magic over several meals.

Tired of me gushing about beans?  Me too.  Let’s get down to business:

Slow Cooker Black Beans

1 lb black beans (16 oz or 2 cups dry)

1 large onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic

8-10 cups low-sodium chicken broth or vegetable stock (could probably use water but the broth makes them extra-tasty)

1/4 cup evoo

Put it all in the slow cooker and set for 10-12 hours on LOW.

Speaking of slow-cooker, did you know that when a recipe calls for cooked and shredded chicken, you can put frozen chicken breasts in your slow cooker with all of your other ingredients and then take them out a few hours later and shred them very easily?  Prior to learning this, when recipes called for chopped onions and cooked, shredded chicken I would get annoyed.  If I have to defrost the chicken, cook it, and then shred it then it doesn’t make the old slow-cooker very simple now does it?  Now I just get annoyed with instructions to chop onions because I HATE that kitchen task.  Hands down- my least favorite.  I feel like my hands smell for the next 24 hours and inevitably every towel I touch smells like onions too.  And no one is picking out the onion-smelling dryer sheet at the store.

If anyone knows of a good onion-chopping tip I am all ears.  Seriously kills me every time.

17 thoughts on “More About Beans!

    • i forgot to mention- i do NOT own this device. i almost bought it like a month ago, i was looking at it in the store for about 5 minutes. i eventually walked away from it though because it required hand-washing. so it’s a matter of what you hate more- chopping or washing 🙂

      • I have one of these and I don’t think it’s strong or sharp enough for onions, but could be the brand I have (cheaper than W-S). Seems to squish tomatoes to a pulp rather than actually dice them.

  1. I will try these. I’m all about the dried beans, too, but don’t doctor them up very much, so they’re bland-city.

    Also, I really don’t use onions very much any more. I rely on onion powder for the flavor and to give the picky ones one less thing to ‘pick out’ of everything I make.

  2. Freeze your onion for about 5 minutes- cuts the tears! Also, get a mini food processor or food chopper 🙂

    Can’t wait to try the beans! xoxo

  3. For onions, you need a chopper. They make a slap-chop (as seen on TV brand) or one from pampered chef. Worth. It! Get you one. Now! I peel the onion then quarter it depending on the size then I can use the chopper on the smaller sections. Also, for the smell on your hands…I know they make these kitchen stones that I think are stainless steel (?) but the point is to rub your hands on it to rid them of smelling like, well, onions (and garlic). I have one but never use it because of the chopper. Oh, and I also hate chopping chicken. I use the chopper for this too.

  4. Pingback: The Year in Review « Ye Old College Try

  5. Pingback: Meals that Work For Us | Ye Old College Try

Leave a Reply

