The Year in Review

With 2011 drawing to a close, it feels appropriate to look back at the year and see what there is to be…seen.

So.  How about a few superlatives?

 

Most Liberating MonthJanuary.  The month of purging- I got rid of 5 things per day.  Lots of stuff went to Goodwill.  Even more than Goodwill donations, however, were the things like library books, dishes that friends had left at our apartment, or random things that belonged in the shed but had somehow ended up in our living room.  I didn’t realize how much space we were donating in our little apartment to these kinds of items until I took a month to get rid of them, return them, or put them in their proper place.

Our most common dumping area was our bedroom, since it was the only room in the apartment that we kept closed off (usually), so it just became this room of assorted piles “to be dealt with someday”.  Someday was in January, and it felt awesome.

Here is a post about how I stayed focused in the midst of all of the mess and little things, and here is a post that shows just a few of the things that I got rid of during January.

Most Defeating MonthMarch.  The month in which I UNSUCCESSFULLY tried to curb my internet usage to 60 minutes per day.  It was a dismal failure.  Yes, I did accomplish a few things that I may not have otherwise (see this and this) but…that might be all.  I had no idea I was so addicted.  Bleh.

Most Indecisive Month: May.  The month of being facebook-free.  I realized my addiction, my perpetual refreshing of the page, and decided it had to stop.  I alternated between missing the announcements about new babies and new jobs (what happened to good old-fashioned email announcements, people?) and feeling totally liberated of the compulsion to check.

I still remember talking to my friend Megan about being off facebook (I just hopped off my account for a month- she canceled hers altogether) and I told her I sometimes thought in status updates.  Let me repeat that:  I THOUGHT IN STATUS UPDATES.  Here is a post about the withdrawal symptoms.

Month I Am Most Likely to Continue to Keep Up With: June.  The month of going to bed by 10:30 and getting up by 6:30.  Months later, and I am still a 6:30’ish riser.  My kids wake up at varying times, so sometimes this gives me 30 minutes of a head-start on them and sometimes it gives me two hours (bless those days).  But any head-start just feels like a nice way to start the day.  Breakfast is frequently the only meal I give my undivided attention to, because I am not sharing that mealtime with a preschooler and a toddler.  I like the quiet and not starting my day in reaction mode.  Here is a brief post on what I liked about getting good sleep and here is when sleep was alluding me.

Wow, I am old.  Only old people wake up at 6:30 on purpose.  Huh.

I learned a lot that month about how to really prepare myself for rest (turning off my laptop well before I am trying to sleep, for example) and how getting adequate sleep makes a pretty big difference in my days.  For example, my need for mid-day snacks (especially sweet ones) really decreased because I wasn’t relying on the sugar to boost my energy.  Also- melatonin.  Love that stuff.  Available at your natural food store.  I use it periodically when my mind is racing and I need help quieting down.

Most Popular PostThis one.  A few tips for how to add clutter to your life.  As the title says, I cannot take credit for these ideas.  Totally lifted it off another blogger.  But darn funny.

First Runner-Up Most Popular PostThis one.  About me and my beloved three year old Chicken Little.  I don’t know- I guess this strikes a chord with preschool parents everywhere.

Most Commented PostsThis one and this one.  The former is about beans (definitely worth the read!) and the latter is about saving money on groceries and fighting over a can of beans (no joke).  Beans- they really inspire people to comment.  Also this one about moving.

Lamest Month for Goals:  December.  Because I did jack-squat all month in terms of goals.

I’m deciding now if I will continue with goals and blogging for the next year.  I think I’ll keep writing because I enjoy it, but I don’t have much inspiration for another year of goals.  I could really see repeating a few from last year, and I have gotten some good ideas from friends about new things to try.  I don’t, however, have the long list like I did at this time last year of things I want to try.  And would people really want to read another months’ worth of writing about 5 more things I got rid of?  The expired medicines?  The trash can lids?

With all that being said, I am taking any and all suggestions for goals for next year.  I need a little more oomph before I roll into 2012.

 

10 thoughts on “The Year in Review

  1. I keep thinking of ways to motivate myself to send handwritten notes in the mail to people whom I miss and love. You go first.

    Are you a P or a J? If you’re a P, do you have a lot of unfinished projects that you could try to finish (one at a time)?

    I’m totally projecting my need for direction and motivation onto you. Sorry.

    • project away.

      i love the handwritten notes. here is how that applies to me: for the past 5 years i have resolved to send cards to family members for their birthdays. for the past 5 years i have failed. i even set the 7 day reminder on my google calendar- but i just ignore it.

      here’s what i want to do: go get X number of birthday cards for X number of family members, address them, stamp them (no excuses!), then (forthelove) send them out when the time arises.

      i think that will be my version of handwritten notes for the year. handwritten notes for birthdays. love it!

      i am a “j”, by the way. though i haven’t done a m-b test in years. somehow i still have lots of projects i could slooowly wade through.

      love these ideas.

  2. Katherine
    I love this post. So fun to read about your year and I’m going to steal your goal for last January for my coming January. 5 things a day sounds great (and probably still too few).

    Hope you all are doing well and enjoying Christmas together.

    • oh it is a great great feeling! if i had not recorded a portion of what i got rid of here on this blog, i don’t know that i would remember any of it. and i certainly can’t name one thing that i got rid of that i actually miss.

  3. My own superlative to add:

    Best new blog of 2011: ye old college try

    So glad you will continue to write.

  4. Loved your year in review. Loved the year of blog posts, actually, so it’s natural I would like the award ceremony. I wouldn’t hate another year of it. Glad it will continue!

  5. Pingback: Three Little Things « Ye Old College Try

  6. Pingback: Brain Dump | Ye Old College Try

Leave a Reply

