Waiting

Still pregnant!  I’m only 37 weeks, so I could have weeks to go.  I’m on pins and needles, though, because Chicken came along at 36 weeks and Monkey at 38.  And (ohbytheway) Monkey was a speedy labor- just over an hour- so I am kind of sort of on high alert.  I have great friends who have been willing to have their phones on at all times and let me know if they have the audacity to, say, go to Gordonsville for a birthday lunch with their husband.  And therefore be no use to me if I go into labor.  Seriously- I have needed to know that someone is ready and within a couple of miles of me at all times when my husband is at work.

Because- a one hour labor?  That’s no joke, people.  I have never aspired to a home birth and don’t prefer to begin this time around.

Since the doctor told me last week what my stats were (lady-business stats.  Involving the cervix and stuff.  There I said it.) I have been in a frenzy of trying to get people lined up to be “on call” and, simultaneously, trying to rest rest rest to fend off labor.  I have to say- pregnancy is a heck of a lot more enjoyable when you do what people generally advise and take it easy during these last weeks.  I have been resting when the kids are napping or resting, barely cooking or picking up the house, and basically sitting around as much as possible.  As a result, I am NOT walking around with constant lower back pain and I have NOT wanted to throttle my kids half as much.  Like, I’ve been able to enjoy them.  I didn’t know that happened at this stage of pregnancy.  I thought that at this point I would just be constantly uncomfortable/in pain and making myself and everyone else miserable.  So- taking it easy.  Note to self: helps a lot.

So, with this pregnancy winding down, we’re considering a last-minute photo shoot.  Enjoy a few awkward family photos for inspiration.  Cast your vote for a favorite!  I think I’d go Katherine Heigl-lookalike with grown man sucking his thumb.

6 thoughts on “Waiting

  1. I don’t know – have you tried to balance on a tree limb that like at 38 weeks. I’m guessing it’s not easy to do.

    (Side note: SO glad to hear that you are feeling good. So excited for you!)

  2. Um, yes. That last pic is by far the most disturbing. I have to wonder- was this the couple’s idea? The photographer’s? Either way, the other party went with it? Seriously?
    Hang in there, Kat!

  3. I don’t know. I think the first one with the fella pushing the “start” button is pretty awesomely awful. That said, the tree pic does require a good bit of dexterity and composure…

  4. seriously? what is wrong with people? i say you come on over and we can figure out some way to take a stupid picture in our hammock….btw, if you did take a stupid preggo picture, you would not look stupid b/c you look fantastic with child. 🙂 can’t wait to meet new little animal.( what is his nickname gonna be anyway?) tiger?

Leave a Reply

