A Few Things

1.  My daughter called me “Mrs. Hannigan” tonight.  This is, clearly, her first original insult.  Not bad!

I remember her first joke:  We were cleaning the kitchen together and she was maybe 2 years old.  I had given her a sponge and a spray bottle of water to wipe the cabinets.  She looked at the sponge for a while, then looked at me.  I could see the wheels turning.

“This is my sponge…[little, satisfied smile]…Bob.”

(If you’ve not seen or heard of this show, you don’t think her joke was very funny at all.  But it made me laugh a lot.)

2.  My goal for May is to keep a time log for a week.  I told my brother and sister-in-law this when we were with them a few weeks ago and I can picture my brothers’ horrified look.

And his (valid) question: “Why would you want to do that?”.

Well, nothing in my life is an original idea.  I read about it here and was curious as to what I would find out if I tracked everything for a week.  I plan to start on Monday.

3.  The 5 things remix of last month was a great success.  I moved tons of stuff out of my house.  I also designated a spot for all of the stuff that I need to return to stores, the library, and other people.  Usually I keep that stuff in the corner of my bedroom or scattered around the house.  Meanwhile, I have a dresser in my dining room (because of this idea to use baskets for the kids’ clothes- smashing success, by the way), and that dresser had two big, empty drawers.

One of those drawers holds my daughters’ artwork, to be sorted through at the end of the school year.  The other is now my “returns” drawer.

I love having solutions for things like this.

4.  If I have been looking at my living room rug for a few weeks and thinking I’d like to get rid of it, and then my son pukes on it big time, do you think that’s a sign that I should pull the trigger and get rid of it?

But what about the fact that I do not like sweeping bare floors?  And big (8×10) rugs are pricey and I probably won’t find a replacement I like for a long time?

Input welcome and desired.

In the meantime, there’s no way you should feel grossed out about coming over and sitting on my rug, or letting your child crawl around on it.  Uh-uh.  Don’t even think twice about that.  It’s fiiiiine.

5.  I am reading this book right now.  And I really enjoy it.

I am quick to always say that I am not a foodie.  I can’t discern good coffee from bad coffee.  I can’t try a sauce and taste the cardamom in it (that’s a thing, right?).  So I thought I might feel sort of “meh” about reading a chef’s memoir.  But I’m almost finished with this book and wishing it could go on a little longer.  Two thumbs up.

8 thoughts on “A Few Things

  1. Hahahaha. I feel like Mrs Hannigan daily.
    ‘Some women are dripping with diamonds…’

  2. Oh! The returns drawer! Great idea. I have the “exchange-o basket” but with a 2 1/2 year old boy, not much is actually safe in it so most items need to be near it, but not in it. My one concern is that It would be “out of sight, out of mind” and the belongings would never go back to the owners, left to molder in the drawer forever…. But maybe that’s just me 😉

Leave a Reply

