Never Stop Starting, Y’all.

Another guest post from my friend Keely!

How many of you have heard of Whole30? It is one of those things that came on my radar about a year ago and very quickly intrigued me. I mean- a 30-day anything pretty much fascinates me. I started a blog about 30-day attempts at things… just sayin’.

I have not done Whole30 myself, but have loved hearing from friends who have tried it. Here is Keely’s experience:

“Never Stop Starting, Y’all.”

Last month, after “researching” it for one day, I attempted a Whole30. I say attempted because I quit after 12 days. I kept Katherine in the loop throughout those 12 days because we had briefly discussed the program and she introduced me to the blog of a friend of hers who was also attempting it. Many of my friends, including Kat, mentioned that they admired the fact that I just jumped in and did it. I didn’t ponder, stew, or contemplate it for too long. That’s because I know myself too well.

whole30

After my first child was born, I stopped working and stayed home full-time. My home (at the time, our apartment) became my domain and my job, in addition to keeping the tiny human I had with me alive, was to take care of our space. I was not well-trained. I grew up in a house where my dad griped at my sister and I about cleaning up our rooms until we did a half-ass job which he ultimately redid, up to his Danny Tanner-like standards.

So where did I start? I read every book on cleaning, organization, and home-keeping that I could find in our library. I read, and read, and read…and never did anything. I was filled with great ideas and no motivation to act on. So I knew that if I spent time researching the Whole30, I would probably never actually start it.

whole30 2

So I jumped in and ran on all-natural energy and the comments and feedback of my Facebook friends and blog readers (those are actually the same group, now that I think about it…). My reasons for quitting are complicated. Some of them I shared on my blog, but most of them are personal and messy and spiritual and hard to articulate anywhere other than my journal. I did share that, even though I failed to complete the program, and therefore failed to reach my goal, I don’t feel like a failure. Maybe that’s because I started. I jumped in. I didn’t over think. I didn’t noncommittally commit (and my husband and I are experts at the noncommittal commit).

The tag-line for Kat’s blog is “Never Stop Starting, Y’all.” Our mutual friend, my pastor, Doug, shares that phrase/mantra. Well, he actually says, “Never Stop Starting.” The y’all is my addition and Kat should give me credit for it…
That is one of the most inspiring phrases I’ve ever learned and I use it all the time. Sometimes finishing isn’t enough. Sometimes starting is.

I think that what you learn about yourself is the most interesting part of Whole30, or almost any 30-day attempt at something. I love hearing Keely’s thoughts on her Whole30.

Would you do Whole30? If you did, would you give yourself permission to bail, like Keely did, before the 30 days were over? I think my compulsive nature might compel me to finish…but I’d probably cheat along the way here and there (tarnishing that gold star I supposedly earned). What do you think?

6 thoughts on “Never Stop Starting, Y’all.

  1. I am impressed with anyone who can complete more than ~24 hours of this meal plan. Sounds like some great things were learned! So, hooray! I love that phrase: “Sometimes finishing isn’t enough. Sometimes starting is.” Good words. And I would likely finish thirty days, with massive amounts of cheating.

  2. Whole30? There is NO WAY in the world I could do it for that long. Unless, maybe I was forced at gunpoint to do it. I did it for 17 days and the first week was completely miserable.:-(. After that, it did get easier and I did feel better…but, I do love food. So you know my plan now…eat well 6 days a week and have a cheat day on Saturday. Knowing that I have a day to eat whatever I want makes making healthy choices all week long much easier. :-). I just realized it’s dang near Thursday as I type this….only 48 hours til cheat day.

    • hahaha- i love that you start counting down on Thursday! 17 days is very impressive- can’t believe you did that. eating well 6 days a week and having a freebie/cheat day does seem like a sustainable way to do it. i could see doing that…

  3. Oh man. My husband wants us to do this for not just 30 days, but 60! Whole Life challenge for 8 weeks. I’m already dying a little. I’m glad there was a valuable lesson in it for you.

    • 8 weeks! your husband is hard core. i would be curious if it becomes normal after so long. 30 days would seem like a short endurance race, but maybe after 60 it would feel like a normal way of eating. (isn’t it 60 days to make a new habit??).

Leave a Reply

