I’m Baaaack

image

We are back from 9 days in Montana.  Where the bison steaks are abundant and the huckleberry martinis flow like a glacial spring.  I don’t think I ate a single vegetable until maybe day three.  (Not kidding).

Guess how my 4.5 miles felt this morning?

If you guessed “Like your legs were filled with lead and your lungs were functioning at half capacity” then you are correct.  Getting back on the training wagon is, so far, a real bitch.

I maintain that it was worth it.  My brother only gets married once, and it was great to put training on the back burner while I was there and not worry about getting up early for runs, fighting off bears in those pre-dawn hours, etc.  But could also use a good pep talk about how it doesn’t necessarily spell disaster for my race in two weeks.  Anyone have an inspirational story about how they undertrained/overate/didn’t sleep well before their race/game/event, but still managed to pull it off?  I need some reassurance.

One story that comes to mind is when a friend from college, Dave, ran an entire marathon on a dare without training.  I think the trash talking started at D-Hall one afternoon- something along the lines of “anyone can run a marathon,” while he stuffed his face with popcorn shrimp- and culminated in 26.2 miles around Harrisonburg that evening.  So…there’s that.

Anyone else?

10 thoughts on “I’m Baaaack

  1. I figure you get a mile out of excitement and adrenaline alone, then another mile out of not wanting to look lame in front of others, and if you dig deep, one more mile based on pure grit. There you go!

    I do know of two men who have run a marathon without training. One is my brother-in-law who is now an Army Ranger. Just channel that energy, and you’ll be set!

    • as best as i know it, army rangers function on an entirely different plane that i do in general. the very idea of that (a marathon without training OR being an army ranger) blows my mind.

      i agree that adrenaline and the crowd will go a long way. and fear of looking lame.

  2. Race day adrenaline works wonders. When I was 25 or 26, a friend and I signed up for a spring 10K one year thinking it would motivate us to run all winter. It did not. It only motivated me to run 2 miles the weekend before the race which left me very sore and very sure I could not run the 10K. I wouldn’t say I set any world records (some woman named Ruth, age 80, is looking very spry right behind me in my finish line photo) but I did jog the entire distance for the first time in my life on race day. A couple years later I only trained up to 8 miles for the Army 10Miler. Again, race day was my first day ever running that far. And a couple years after that, I completely slacked on marathon training – I was essentially only doing my Saturday long runs and none of the weekday runs and stretched the limits of the pre-race taper (as in I didn’t run at all for two weeks pre-race). It was all good. It’s not a miracle worker, but the rush from all the people running with you, the people cheering on the sidelines, and the knowledge that you can stop (forever if you want to) after you cross that finish line – it definitely makes a big difference. Good Luck!!

    • these are the stories i need to hear! you sound like you train like my husband does for those big races- long runs here and there and then you just muscle through it on race day.

      “it was all good”- that’s what i’m hoping.

  3. the night before shawn’s first half-marathon, we five stayed in one hotel room. abel screamed all night. shawn ended up sleeping in the mini-closet with the sliding mirror door to try to get away from her. the week of his first marathon, he lost his voice and half his energy due to a horrible cold virus. he made it through both just fine :). you’ll be swell! you’ll be great!

  4. Last September I cycled 235km (in the Rockies) in one day…. The longest ride I accomplished that summer previous to my big ride was about 40km in the river valley here in Edmonton (translation: tame slopes)- Scout wasn’t big enough to fit a bike helmet yet, so I couldn’t take her in the trailer and had to train at all sorts of random hours and in very short stints whenever hubby could babysit. Anyways, I weekend warrior-ed my way through it and the worst I suffered was some creepy muscle twitching all night post-ride from electrolyte imbalance 🙂 You’ll be just fine, Katherine!!!!

Leave a Reply

