Public Service Announcement

You know when you read about people losing all their pictures and videos because their hard drive crashed or their laptop got stolen or something?  And you’re like “oh that really sucks for them”. [shudder at the thought]

That happened to me, yesterday.  One of my beloved offspring frantically punched the password keypad so many times that I am now forever locked out of my ipad.  So now my pictures are irretrievable.

I went to PeachMac today and it took about 1.5 minutes to hear that there is nothing they can do.  Nothing.

Which seems ridiculous, really.  There’s no way around rebooting the ipad and deleting everything on it?  Because my kid punched the keypad too many times?

Ugh.

Ask me if I backed things up on the cloud.  Ask me and I’ll tell you NONONONONO I did not.

My friend Lisa lamented via text:

 

“Argh.  I’m so sorry.  This is a lesson for all of us.

 

Don’t have children.”

 

5 thoughts on “Public Service Announcement

  1. Years ago, I lost my entire gradebook the week before final exams. Every grade for every assignment for a whole semester for 150+ kids. The tech guy said, “You know, Rita, there are two kinds of people in the world: Those who back up, and those who wish they did.”

    Wanted to punch him. At least I had a hard copy and was able to re-enter every single grade for every single assignment and give accurate grades. So, bet you think I’m now the first kind of person, right?

    Nope.

    So sorry. Smart as Apple is about its products, that just doesn’t sound right.

    • NOOOOOO. oh my gosh. that sounds like a nightmare.

      you’re kind of like my brother and fire insurance. we had a house fire once, and he sort of figures “what are the odds it will happen again?”.

Leave a Reply

