Smoothies and Stuff

20140411-141308.jpg

It is smoothie weather around here. I make them just about every afternoon lately. The kids love them and so do I.

I know I’ve written about smoothies before but, strangely, I’ve had two smoothie-related conversations this week and that seemed like enough to warrant writing about it again. For us, this is a great way to get greens in the kids in a way that they enjoy.

For a long time I made our green smoothies with milk as a base. I liked the protein that milk provided, to balance out the sugar from the fruit. (Sometimes all that sugar makes me feel jittery. Protein brings it all down a notch). My boys liked them, but at some point Chicken did not. (And neither did my husband. But I’m not so concerned about him- he is a big boy and can manage to eat his greens other ways). But then I started making them with watered-down apple juice (so much sugar!) and Chicken is back on the smoothie bandwagon. (So is my husband). I am also using kale now, instead of spinach. Because- why not? It’s a superfood! If I serve kale at dinner the kids will eat their required two pieces, but in a smoothie they pound a lot of that stuff. Observe:

20140411-141632.jpg

So. Apple juice, frozen fruit, kale, maybe that banana that is getting mushy anyway. Blend. Enjoy.

In other news, we are a couple of months out from finishing Whole30 and for several weeks our eating had just reverted to the way it formerly was, but worse. It was like getting better after a stomach bug and realizing you are ravenous.

*EAT EVERYTHING IN SIGHT*

So that happened for a several weeks and my lovely hubby and I decided we felt ick about being so out of control. So we’ve been reining it in as a family and cutting back on the refined sugar. We have one occasion a week to just eat whatever we want, but other than that I’m back to reading labels and substituting molasses for sugar and all that hippie stuff. I’m also just grossed out by seeing how sugar is in every single thing out there. Why is sugar listed as an ingredient in Tyson chicken breasts? Why???

Lastly, I finally put all of our winter stuff in the attic and- glory be- what a feeling that was. With that momentum going, I also filled up the back of the Mazda and took a run to Goodwill. I love getting rid of stuff when I feel bogged down. Nine times out of ten, when my house and its’ mess overwhelms me, I just need to get a bunch of stuff out of the house. Makes cleaning so much easier.

Now that I’ve really painted a glorious picture of myself (I mean: green smoothies, no refined sugar, and clutter-free house), please note the background of this blurry phone picture. Crib mattress on the dining room floor, big-ass blue plastic ball machine that no one else in the entire Charlottesville universe wanted either (I tried to give it away on facebook and was greeted with a deafening silence), and a desk that is chronically overflowing.

20140411-141326.jpg

Lest anyone get the wrong idea.

Happy Friday!

8 thoughts on “Smoothies and Stuff

  1. You are indeed a stellar mom and I LOVE seeing my nephews!!!!!!!! They are so daggone handsome with what looks like new haircuts. Where is our beautiful niece? 🙂 Sounds like you are on a roll, sister! Miss y’all!

    • where was she that day??? they’re always together– i can’t think of where she would have been.
      they ARE so handsome! and so fun these days– especially the little one!!! he’s a little tagalong.

  2. Hi Kat! I know you’re off the milk-based smoothie but we have a favorite: kale, banana, 1 tbs. peanut butter, unsweetened vanilla almond milk, cinnamon (as much as an almost-three year old like to sprinkle in) and ice. Miss you!

  3. Pingback: Brain Dump | Ye Old College Try

Leave a Reply

