Fill in the Blank

Here’s how I knew I was pregnant: I peed on a stick and it told me.

Here’s how I really knew I was pregnant: I was driving to the preschool drop-off, arrived at the school driveway, and turned on my left blinker to turn in. I sat for maybe 3 seconds as traffic kept coming by. Then a car coming the opposite way stopped for me and waved me into the parking lot.

Tears.

And the overwhelming sense, welling up in me, that people…everywhere…are just so…kind. That person didn’t even know me. But he just stopped. Such kindness is incredible.

[Yup. I’m pregnant. Pregnancy hormones are a thing.]

So. Fill in the blank: If three kids are _____________, four kids are ________________.

Winner of the best sentence gets a prize in the mail. I’m not telling you what it is, but it might be my 6 year olds’ drawings from “Frozen” or a gift certificate for a free froyo at Bloop. Also the pregnancy test I just referenced!

(Just kidding. Who keeps an old pee stick? Gross.)

17 thoughts on “Fill in the Blank

  1. If three kids are a pound of chicken, four kids are a can of beans. If three kids are lice, four kids are more lice. If three kids are farting, four kids are laughing. If three kids are wearing jorts, four kids are wearing tighter jorts. BRING IT. and congrats officially.

  2. If three kids are a handful, four kids are a frickin’ — I mean, lively and — goat rodeo. OR If three kids are used by God over decades for your sanctification (to steal a phrase from Trenton), four kids are a sure-fire means to sainthood.

    Congrats. You’re a better woman than I am. I love the idea of four grown kids but took the easy path — I had two kids and hope, uh, pray daily and fervently that they marry people I like.

    P.S. I can’t imagine you kept the pee stick, because I’m sure no one played with it very often.

    • goat rodeo- i’ve never heard that one, and the image makes me laugh. kind of like when i first heard someone refer to “herding cats”.

      you know me well. if no one’s playing with the pee stick, off it goes to Goodwill. someone else will appreciate it if you kids don’t!

  3. Really can’t compete with Starla (my favorite is farting/laughing), but wanted to say congratulations! Tried to make some poker play on words with “full house” but then I realized that’s FIVE kids. Hey, maybe you’re having twins? 🙂

  4. Hahaha! Man I would cry at that and I’m not pregnant. If three kids are chaos, four kids have to be easier and calmer and more independent and more settled and easier. Did I say easier bc God will not give you more than what you can handle:)

  5. First of all, CONGRATULATIONS!! Second, my fill in the blank comments sound mean in my head and I absolutely don’t intend them to be…I just really want to win the prize and my brain is fried after working today. So, if I make you cry because I am totally opposite of the kind man you encountered at preschool, please forgive me!
    If three kids are keeping you busy, four kids are just 15 shy of the Duggars. 😋
    If three kids are fighting, four kids are in trouble. The farting/laughing comment above is awesome! And, I’m gonna stock up on ramen noodles just for you!

  6. I am reminded of comedian Jim Gaffigan. He described finding out his wife was pregnant with their fourth baby…”People ask me all the time- ‘so what is it like finding out you are having a fourth baby?’…and I tell them…Imagine that you are drowning, and then someone hands you a baby.” Haha! But seriuosly though- congrats- this from a ‘blended’ mother of 5 ranging from 18 years to 10 months..enjoy crazy town.

  7. Pingback: Looking Back | Ye Old College Try

Leave a Reply

