Happy Day

20140707-080757.jpg

This weekend felt like an instagram come-true. The weather was perfect for being outside. It was bug-free and the humidity was low. Watching fireworks on the 4th, I actually got chilly. Cool- on the 4th of July. I don’t think that has happened in a long time.

My kids played outside for most of the weekend. We hiked at Ivy Creek for a couple of hours on the 4th. I realized, sometime in the afternoon, that we had not even considered finding a parade somewhere. Nor were my kids wearing red, white, and blue.

I felt a little bummed; sort of guilty and missed-opportunity’ish. But then I remembered that my kids are not on facebook and will, therefore, not know what they’re missing. The bummed feeling passed.

………………………………………..

After realizing I felt tired and lamenting the deep injustice of this (in my second trimester! I should feel like a million bucks) I realized I was going to bed late every night. So I’ve been getting in bed earlier and setting myself up for better sleep. It is the darndest thing. I’m not so tired anymore.

The kids are fun these days. The baby is in a screech-when-he’s-frustrated phase, but we are working on it and I know it will pass. I’m enjoying time with them so much that it brings up the whole homeschooling decision all over again. After a fun week together, like last week, I told my husband I lean toward keeping Chicken home again this coming year.

(This is a scale that tips easily in either direction, so expect a different leaning at any point).

Happy Monday, all!

Leave a Reply

