Kids Clothes

IMG_0212.JPG
A friend asked if I would ever write something about kids’ clothes. This was a few weeks ago and I keep thinking of things to write about. At the rate my internal blog post is shaping up, it would be several thousand words long and probably bore everyone to tears.

So instead of a dissertation-level post on Kids Clothes, I’ll just put out some thoughts here and there as they come to me.

IMG_0973.JPG

First thought:
Use the space you have. And only that space.

You have one dresser for kids’ clothes? Use that. And stop when it is full. You should be able to close the drawers EVERY DAY. Even that one day a year when you are caught up on laundry!

(Because nothing stalls the laundry cycle out like having clean clothes and not enough space to put them away. Or no need to put them away, because you already have plenty of other clothes to wear).

This applies to clothes storage, as well. If you have a massive attic and want to use it to store Rubbermaid bins of clothes, then knock yourself out. But if you don’t, then…don’t. Give those clothes away to someone else, donate them to the Pregnancy Center in your area, or sell them on Craigslist.

(I just bagged up three garbage bags of boy clothes and am selling them at $40/bag. Two of the bags are out the door and I am not taking pictures and nickel and diming over an outfit here and there. Just get the stuff out- that works best for me.)

Second thought:
There are always more kids’ clothes. Repeat that one, and tattoo it on your forearm when it comes time to purge some of your kids’ clothes.

IMG_0987.JPG

There is always someone else who is eager to hand over their hand-me-downs. There is always the Target clearance rack. There is always Goodwill. There are always grandparents who want to know what to buy for Christmas.

It is tempting to hold onto all the clothes, just in case.

1. In case you have another baby one day (of the same gender and born in the same season, I mean).

2. In case your child decides that he does like that outift you picked out, after all.

3. In case all her other dresses and skirts are dirty and you need that one from the back of her closet.

4. In case Old Navy, Target, and the Goodwill have burned down (all three locations!) and your child is living naked in the meantime.

5. In case you run out of money and the hand-me-down sources have dried up. And, also, number 4 is true.

Those cases are few and far between and, in my opinion, not worth holding onto excess clothes for.

Because- repeat after me- there are always more kids’ clothes.

IMG_0867.JPG

Third thought:
Just let him wear the same Thomas shirt over and over and eliminate the need for anything else.

(Ha ha).

………………………………..

Just this morning I pulled a Rubbermaid bin out of the attic. I have girl clothes from newborn to size 5 in there. I just saved the really special stuff that my Chicken has outgrown and that I knew I would want to see again, should we ever have another girl.

It was SO ENJOYABLE to pull those clothes out. There are just a few things for every size, and each piece of clothing has strong, positive memories attached to it. I am infinitely happier to have saved that one bin (and only that one bin! See thought number one!) for this baby girl who is coming in a few months.

Let my one-bin-of-clothing inspire you, if you need inspiration to purge. It was, truly, a lovely thing.

8 thoughts on “Kids Clothes

  1. Love the Thomas shirt! I kept lots of baby clothes even though I knew I wasn’t going to get to have another baby just because I couldn’t bear to part with them. (Maybe because I knew I wasn’t going to get to have another baby.) I had two bins full. Each time I did a decluttering, I’d let go of more. I’m down to about half a bin, with only a few really special items for each of my kids in it. Feels WAY better. I have this idea that maybe someday I’ll hand them down to grandkids (if there are any), but it’s OK if I don’t. I do like having them. I love looking at them when I’m decluttering.

    • Well, I LOVE that idea. Two of the dresses in my “special clothes bin” were mine as a little girl. Pretty great to see my girl(s) in them!

  2. Pingback: Brain Dump | Ye Old College Try

  3. Pingback: My Clothes in the New House | Ye Old College Try

  4. Pingback: Brain Dump | Ye Old College Try

  5. Pingback: All Those Precious Memories… | Ye Old College Try

Leave a Reply

