Brain Dump

2015/03/img_2053.jpg

1. I love that warmer temps are here. Is it safe to put all the snow gear back up in the attic? Because I did.

2015/03/img_2082.jpg

2. I am reading The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up, which will surprise no one. *Home management nerd-alert*

Basic premise is that you handle everything in your home (like- actually touch it and hold it) and determine if that object “sparks joy”. If it does not- get rid of it. This is a bit of a flip-flop from other standard decluttering approaches where you look at what you don’t want/use/need and get rid of that. We’re looking at what we DO like. Keep that. Ditch the rest.

(Let’s talk about how fun it would be to handle every item in your closet when you are four months postpartum and still look the part. I am waiting on that part of the challenge. Nothing sparks joy in my closet. Nothing. I am trying to be patient with myself in this but it is hard sometimes.)

I particularly liked the first section of the book, where you are asked why you are reading this particular book. Why read a book about tidying and decluttering and organizing? Well. Here’s why (for me): I always feel like having less stuff makes life simpler and frees up more head space for more important things than…managing stuff. Namely, managing the stuff that has very little meaning. I hate realizing that I have spent lots of time sorting/cleaning/decluttering/putting away stuff that I don’t care about. Or even dislike.

It’s not like I am trying to write the great American novel over here, or find the cure for cancer, but surely I have better things to do with my time. Right?

2015/03/img_1910.jpg
No reason. Just because.

Lastly, I know not everyone is like this, but I have a harder time relaxing when there’s too much stuff out around me. (In my space, that is. I can relax alllll day long in your clutter. Swearsies.) Periodically I have to eliminate the source of brain hiccups.

3. This year I got the great idea to get my husband a juicer for Christmas. If you’ve ever gone out to eat with him, you will notice that whatever drink he orders is gone in a few minutes. He is a “drinks guy”. He has also been starting his day with smoothies for the past few months. So a juicer made sense! I was so excited! I found one on Craigslist for a good price. Done.

Roughly 17 carrots, two apples, and a bag of spinach later, we had one large glass of juice. And a ton of little parts to disassemble and clean. Merry Christmas, sug. Hope you enjoyed that $65 glass of juice. It seemed like a good idea at the time.

(The juicer no longer sparks joy. Per the books’ instructions, I will thank it for its service and release it to spark joy in someone else. Ha.)

4. Someone else has a pean-pow!

2015/03/img_2072.jpgDear Caleb Do you want to be pen pals with me? (And boxes for “yes” and “no”. And a picture of a t-rex.)

5. The boys have dug a hole in the back yard and have spent the past 45 minutes refilling water cups inside and filling the hole with water. They have not bickered. They have not fought. Yay for time outside! It is good for everyone.

4 thoughts on “Brain Dump

  1. I got that book and it’s going to change my life when I can find it again under my crap and finish it (not a joke). Seriously though, the easiest part was the clothes for me because I get so angry at excess clothes!!! Now I really do just wear what I have so that actually worked for real. miss you!

  2. Lol, I haven’t started the book yet because I can’t handle having to go through all the crap in my house, especially my closet, which is entirely unorganized because we moved when I was pregnant so it’s half full of postpartum stuff I don’t want to look at (that doesn’t spark joy, if you will) but need, and half clothes that don’t fit me yet, which also don’t spark joy. But I am looking forward to it! I am looking forward to having read and implemented the book, if not the actual process of doing so.

    Also, that baby belly, I just can’t.

    • I tend to idealize and wait for a the perfect free weekend to tackle things like this. Today I realized I had a) energy and b) 30 minutes when both little kids were down for naps, and the two big kids were out. So I did the downstairs toy closet. Two boxes and one bag- out.

      The clothes closet will definitely have to wait.

Leave a Reply

