All Those Precious Memories…

…Can overwhelm me.

she cray


Breaking my blog silence to tell you how I store my kids’ important stuff.  Like, the stuff I want to save for a long time and give back to them one day.  Artwork.  Letters to the Tooth Fairy.  Their favorite board book that we read 100 times a day for a while.  That kind of stuff.  

I know you need to know MY method, because Pinterest probably turns up zero ideas about “how to store kids’ stuff”.  Hahahahaha…  I crack myself up.  

If you want to know Pinterest’s ideas, feel free to click over there now.  I will be here when you return in 3 hours.  If you’re like me, you will sign on to look for kids’ storage ideas and, instead, find outdoor planter flower ideas, homemade grout cleaners, and party-perfect crockpot meatballs.  Pinterest makes me feel like I have the attention span of a squirrel.

i have hundreds of these on my phone


So.  My idea.  

Pick a finite space- a box or bin- and use it well.  Just one allocated space for the special stuff.  

I have four bins that sit on the top shelf of the kids’ closets.  One for every kid.  They are not clear, because I don’t necessarily want my kids to see everything in there and ask me to pull it down every few weeks.  The point is to tuck certain things away for a long time.  

When my Mom passed away, my Dad spent some time going through our house and collecting things for us kids to sort through.  Among the things I received was a box of my old stuff.  One box- letters to my mom on Mother’s Day, preschool art projects, my handprint from elementary school, report cards, etc.  That was pretty emotionally filling to go through.  I enjoyed it, though it was hard to know what to do with a lot of it.  Keep it?  Display it? Trash it?  Yes, yes, and yes.

shenandoah caverns. kind of an odd place.


I don’t think I would have enjoyed much more than that.  One box is special and worth savoring.  Several boxes feels like an emotionally exhausting chore.  (To me.  I don’t think everyone feels like I do).    

Here are some things in my kids’ bins: a letter to the Tooth Fairy, a teeny tiny pair of pj’s that both of my girls wore, the books that each child really attached to, a special shirt, a Lightning McQueen matchbox car, a lovey that was once vitally important every evening at 7:00, their first artwork attempts, first letter-writing attempts, and so on.  I keep a jar in the kitchen to write down and store funny things that my kids say, and periodically I will put their quotes in their bins.    

it has long been a dream of his to be the one to use the library book slot. dreams come true.


So those are some ideas.  

I often feel overwhelmed by the volume of stuff and the memories attached to that stuff.  I want to remember and savor and all of that.  This method works for me.  If it doesn’t float your boat, feel free to try Pinterest for 7 million other methods, plus party-perfect crockpot meatballs.  That place is a real one-stop shop.  It’s like the Wal-Mart of the internet.  

deer in the headlights meets party animal.


Happy Friday!

One thought on “All Those Precious Memories…

  1. What a great idea. I struggle with this too. Recently I started what feels like a war against all the stuff in my house. There was just so much stuff that I was feeling overwhelmed. Im much more likely to err in the side of just throwing things out but it would be nice to keep some special things for them so long as it doesn’t get too crazy!

Leave a Reply

