Two Excellent Push Present Ideas

1.  Never ever use the phrase “Push Present” again.  That word choice makes me uncomfortable.  Just get your wife a present, okay?  She had the baby, get her something.  Don’t call it the poorly-named “push present”.  Ick.  Just don’t.


2.  Oh-you want an actual gift idea?  Here you go.  But- bad news- this is only applicable if this is your second (or third or fourth) baby.  But typing out “Two Excellent Push Present Ideas If Your Wife Just Had Your Second (or Third or Fourth) Baby” seemed excessive.

Here’s my idea: When that newborn baby is a few weeks old, and nursing/bottle-feeding has been established, and baby is healthy- take your older child(ren) and get out of town for a few days.  Leave your wife at home with that new baby.  Give her time in a quiet house, with no toddler waking her up at 6:30 a.m. after she has been up feeding the baby all night.  Give her time to feed the baby and go back to bed- all day if she wants to.  

This would not have felt lovely and glorious after my first was born, but subsequent babies?  Heck yes. 

My husband took the older three out of town for six whole days, when our youngest was six weeks old.  She had been home from the hospital for a few weeks at that point, was gaining weight like a champ, and doing all of the cute things that babies do.  Leaving me alone with my youngest one was heaven.  I took long walks around Charlottesville with her bundled in the Bjorn, I enjoyed hours upon hours of quiet in my own house (a rarity, and maybe only enticing for an introvert, now that I think about it), and finished little nesting projects that had been waylaid by numero cuatro’s sudden arrival.  She napped on my chest as I watched Netflix.  I got up with her at 5:00 a.m. and didn’t care- because I could go back to bed pretty much any old time that day. 

It was the absolute best thing ever.

So there you go.  The dreamy present my husband gave me, after our youngest’ arrival.   

Does that appeal to anyone else?  Or- who would opt for good old-fashioned jewelry over the scenario I just described?

  P.S.- Yesterday we switched the kids’ bedrooms around and I found this while cleaning a certain child’s bed.  Tucked neatly into a sparkly Easter egg: two frosted mini wheats, some shredded cheddar, and one kernel of dried corn.  What could it possibly mean?

Leave a Reply

