Brain Dump

When all else fails and I have not blogged in a while- there is always the brain dump.

The rarely seen (or taken) photo of just us


1.  How about this weather?  Mid-80’s for the high, in the middle of October.  WTH.  It seems I was premature on busting out the flannel sheets and down comforter a couple of weeks ago.  

The up side is that I got to go through my clothes and bag up a bunch of warm-weather stuff I didn’t wear much and pass it on elsewhere.  I am way into doing that sort of thing, as you may know.

2.  I’m back to a cash system for some of our budget areas.  Time to curb some of that impulse spending.  There is nothing like going back through my credit card statement and adding up all of those little purchases to the tune of hundreds of dollars for the month of September…  I am a pretty firm believer that knowledge is power, even if it made me slightly sick to my stomach to see the final tally.  

The ultimate side eye to the craw dad; camping 2016


I maintain that sometimes you gotta throw money at the problem, but this last stretch has gotten out of hand.  I withdrew cash for my personal spending, spending for the kids, and home purchases.  We have a debit account for our groceries, which keeps me on track with my spending there every month.  

3.  I read 11 books in September and have read 5 so far this month.  I read I Let You Go in a day, because I got all sucked in before realizing it was a suspense/thriller type book (never ever what I like to read).  But I had to know what happened!  Other notables: A Man Called Ove, The One in a Million Boy, Scary Close, Before We Visit the Goddess, and Love Warrior*.  All brought to you by your local public library.  Scary Close and Love Warrior are both memoirs and I liked a lot about both of them.  Hate to say it, but I didn’t actually LOVE Love Warrior.  Just liked it.  No offense, Oprah.  

*I am not linking to all of those titles on Amazon because I am lazy.  

Pretty into the pigtails these days


4.  A few other factors that have allowed for extra reading time: my rad husband took the three oldest kids on two separate camping trips.  I went to Bermuda with my dad, sister, and numero tres for four days (what is this life I am living?!?!) And I am mostly staying off Facebook during the weekdays.  (Here’s where I am embarrassed about how much time I have given over to Facebook, ESPECIALLY during election season.  That does not serve me well.) 

Bermuda was okay… If you go for that sort of thing…

Twinning with Poppies


5.  I have said something to this effect before, but I increasingly see life on the other side.  We are in the last stretch of diapers, nap times, 5 point harness car seats, and frantic bedtime searches for the lovey.  We are crossing over into more independence and into some headier parenting.  It’s not just kneeling down to break up a fight over a toy; it is also talking about anxiety and uncertain friendships and “I’m not sure I believe in God” sort of things.  It is bittersweet, for sure.  

My kids are extremely fun little humans and I am so thankful for our little crew here.  What a crazy gift (and responsibility) to be their mom. 

Life on our street. His name is Maestro, btw, and he pooped in our yard.

6 thoughts on “Brain Dump

    • This month we have used it for a Halloween costume, some winter boots, school pictures, and will use it when we sign the kids up for basketball. So it is sort of a catch-all. We don’t use it for things like babysitting or paying for preschool.

      It is sort of a category that I didn’t think I would need, because I feel like I rarely buy the kids many clothes (because of hand-me-downs, or using credit we accrue at Kid to Kid resale) or really spend much on them:/ But just tracking it for a month shows little things here and there that add up to a good enough amount to pull money out for.

      • Thanks! I’m trying to reestablish my Dave Ramsey habits. Trying to anticipate children’s needs is one of the hardest categories for the budget for me.

        P.S. I’m just now finishing Love Warrior. I’m not sure how I feel about it. I like it a lot but I don’t LOVE it. Some of her blog posts or Facebook posts are better writing I think on a whole.

  1. Headier parenting for sure. The early years are all about physical stamina; the later ones, about emotional. The whole ride stretches you mentally, I think. Oh, I don’t know. The questions just keep getting harder as they get older.

    I’m reading Love Warrior right now (also from the library). I think I’m having the same response. I actually went to her tour event here in Portland, and I was really disappointed in it. Like, I left at intermission disappointed. But I still love her writing on the blog and her perspective.

    I like your brain dumps. 🙂

    • Gah- I would like to take a pass on some of the headier questions, thanks…

      I think that everyone I have talked with has had a similar reaction to Love Warrior. It is always hard to fully love a book (or movie) that gets so much hype. I wonder if I would have loved it more if I had just picked it up off the shelf with no expectations.

  2. Pingback: Looking Back | Ye Old College Try

Leave a Reply

